September 23, 2023

United won by one run after a thrilling contest, defeating the Kings for the seventh time in a row

Asif Ali was declared the man of the match for taking two wickets and batting aggressively.


In the 21st match of PSL played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, Karachi Kings won the toss and invited Islamabad United to bat first.

The United openers made a smoky start but managed only 12 runs.

Rehmanullah Garbaz scored 12 runs off 5 balls with the help of 2 sixes and was caught by Babar Azam on the ball of Emad Wasim.

Mohammad Akhlaq also soon got out on the ball of Mir Hamza by adding only 2 runs on the score of 26.

Alex Hales teamed up with captain Shadab Khan to take the score to 69 and was dismissed for 25 runs.

Shadab Khan played an innings of 34 runs with one six and three fours but on a total of 87, Emad put a full stop in front of his innings.

The score had reached 107 when Liam Dawson also became the wicket of compatriot Jordan Thompson by scoring only 15 runs.

At this stage, Asif Ali came to support Azam Khan and both of them added 30 runs for the fifth wicket. Azam Khan once again got run out for 22 runs as a result of misunderstanding between the wickets.

Asif Ali was dismissed for 29 off 11 balls with the help of three sixes and a four.

In the final overs, Faheem Ashraf played an aggressive game thanks to which Islamabad United scored 191 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. Faheem scored 29 runs off 10 balls with the help of 2 sixes and 3 fours.

For Karachi Kings, Emad Wasim took 2 wickets while Mir Hamza, Ameed Asif, Jordan Thompson and Chris Jordan took one wicket each.

In pursuit of the target, Karachi Kings suffered a setback at the start of the innings when Babar Azam became the wicket of young Zeeshan Zameer after scoring only 13 runs.

However, after one ball, Zeeshan got injured and left the field, but Liam Dawson, who came to complete the over in his place, hit Joe Clarke on the first ball.

United suffered another blow in the same match when Shadab Khan also walked off the field due to injury and could not bowl in the entire innings.

After that Sahibzada Farhan came to support Sharjeel Khan and both of them formed a partnership of 59 runs for the third wicket. Before this partnership proved to be dangerous, Sahibzada Farhan made 17 runs off 21 balls.

The Karachi Kings had not yet recovered from the loss when Sharjeel Khan, who scored 44 off 29 balls, was caught on the boundary in an attempt to hit a six.

Mohammad Nabi failed to understand a ball of Asif Ali in the same over and got bowled. When Nabi was out, half of the Kings team had left for 80 runs in 11 overs.

On this occasion, it seemed that Karachi Kings would suffer their seventh consecutive defeat in the event but Emad Wasim and young Qasim Akram changed the course of the match with excellent partnership and aggressive batting.

Both players played responsibly and batted aggressively, including United’s poor fielding.

Emad Wasim and Qasim put on a 108-run partnership for just 52 balls to take their team very close to victory.

When Emad Wasim was dismissed for 55 off 28 balls in the last over of the match, the Karachi Kings needed four runs off three balls to win.

The next ball bowled by Waqas Maqsood was declared wide and he took a single run in which Karachi Kings needed two runs off two balls.

However, Waqas bowled new batsman Jordan Thompson and thus the Kings needed two runs on the last ball to win.

Chris Jordan tried to score a single on the last ball but the ball went back to the bowler who bowled the English batsman on a direct throw to give his team the victory.

Qasim Akram played a bold innings of 51 off 26 balls but could not save his team from the seventh consecutive defeat in the event.

Asif Ali was declared the man of the match for taking two wickets and batting aggressively.

Both teams were composed of these players for the match.

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (Captain), Alex Hales, Rehmanullah Garbaz, Muhammad Akhlaq, Azam Khan, Asif Ali, Liam Dawson, Fahim Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Waqas Maqsood, Zeeshan Zameer.

Karachi Kings: Babar Azam (Captain), Sharjeel Khan, Joe Clarke, Jordan Thompson, Muhammad Nabi, Sahibzada Farhan, Qasim Akram, Emad Wasim, Chris Jordan, Ameed Asif, Mir Hamza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *