September 23, 2023

Defending champions Sultans in the final for the second year in a row

Shahnawaz Dhani of Multan Sultans was declared the best player of the match for his excellent batting.

champions Sultans

In the qualifier match of the event played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Lahore Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and elected to bowl first against Multan Sultans.

The Sultans’ innings did not start well and Mohammad Hafeez moved Shaun Masood, who scored two runs on the first ball of his spell.

After the first wicket fell, Aamir Azmat came on the wicket. He batted aggressively and scored 33 runs off 22 balls to complete the team’s half-century but he kept going on the same score.

Rousseau batted aggressively and completed a half-century. However, Mohammad Rizwan failed to bat fast and resorted to 49 balls to complete his fifty.

Both of them did not allow any more wickets to fall till the end of the innings due to which Sultans scored 163 runs for the loss of 2 wickets.

Rizwan scored 53 off 51 balls while Rousseau scored 65 off 42 balls with the help of 7 fours and a six.

In pursuit of the target, Lahore Qalandars suffered an early loss and Abdullah Shafiq was declared LBW on the ball of Asif Afridi.

At this stage, Kamran Ghulam came to accompany Fakhr Zaman and both of them managed to form a partnership of 30 runs.

Kamran’s 20-run innings came to an end as a result of misunderstanding between the wickets before Qalandars’ half-century.

The hosts had not yet recovered from the loss when the team’s most experienced batsman, Mohammad Hafeez, stumped out of the crease.

Fakhr Zaman at the other end batted responsibly and scored another half century and hit three sixes to Imran Tahir in one over.

Harry Brook and Fakhr added 54 runs for the fourth wicket but before the partnership could prove dangerous, Shahnawaz Dhani’s beautiful in-swing made Brook LBW.

At this stage, all the hopes of Qalandars were related to Fakhr Zaman but David Willie from England ended his innings and paved the way for his team to win.

Fakhr Zaman scored 63 off 45 balls with the help of four sixes and two fours.

After that, none of the Qalandars batsmen could withstand the bowling of the Sultans and managed to score 135 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the stipulated overs.

For the Sultans, Shahnawaz Dhani bowled brilliantly and took three wickets while two wickets went to David Willie.

Thanks to a 28-run victory in the match, the Sultans qualified for the final for the second year in a row.

Shahnawaz Dhani of Multan Sultans was declared the best player of the match for his excellent batting.

It is to be noted that Multan Sultans did not get the services of Tim David in the match who is not playing due to Corona virus and Johnson Charles was made a part of Final XI in his place.

Both teams were composed of these players for the match.

Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi (Captain), Fakhr Zaman, Phil Salt, Kamran Ghulam, Muhammad Hafeez, Harry Brooke, Sohail Akhtar, David Visay, Fawad Ahmed, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Shaun Masood, Riley Russo, Khushdal Shah, Johnson Charles, Amir Azmat, Asif Afridi, Roman Raees, Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dhani, David Wali

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *