September 24, 2023

PSL2022: Brooke’s brilliant century, Qalandars beat United by 66 runs

United’s seventh wicket fell at 113 when Faheem Ashraf scored 2 runs and became LBW on the ball of Haris Rauf.


Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and elected to bat first in the 27th PSL match played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore.

Qalandars’ opening partnership was poor for the second day in a row where Phil Salt was dismissed for just two runs.

Kamran Ghulam also fell victim to Faheem Ashraf and went back to the pavilion for 6 runs without opening an account.

Experienced batsman Mohammad Hafeez could only score runs and was run out again today.

Qalandars had lost 3 wickets for 12 runs, then Harry Brook came on the field in such a difficult time and forwarded the score with Fakhruzzaman and made a brilliant partnership of 101 runs.

Fakhruzzaman, meanwhile, completed a half-century and was dismissed for 51 with a total score of 113.

From the other end, Harry Brook continued to bat aggressively.

Sohail Akhtar scored 15 off 9 balls and Azam Khan hit stumps off Dawson’s ball.

David Wiese also sided with Brooke and was dismissed for 17 off 12 balls with the help of a six.

Brooke also completed his century off 48 balls.

Lahore Qalandars scored 197 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Brooke scored an unbeaten 102, including 10 fours and 5 sixes.

For United, Faheem Ashraf took the most 3 wickets.

In pursuit of the target, Rehmanullah Garbaz and Mubasir Khan gave a 27-run lead.

Rehmanullah Garbaz scored 20 off 11 balls with the help of 2 fours and a six and got out on the ball of Shaheen Shah.

Shaheen Shah Afridi blew the wickets of Mubasir Khan who scored 6 runs on the next ball.

Muhammad Wasim and Liam Dawson shared the team’s score of 59 runs.

Wasim Rashid Khan got out after making only 12 runs on the ball.

Azam Khan’s innings was limited to 10 runs off 15 balls and fell victim to Rashid Khan.

Liam Dawson, who scored 31 off 26 balls, was also on the move when United’s score reached 85.

Asif Ali, who took over the captaincy in the absence of Shadab Khan, once again failed to play a big innings and scored 12 runs with the help of a four and a six and was caught by Zaman Khan.

United’s seventh wicket fell at 113 when Faheem Ashraf scored 2 runs and became LBW on the ball of Haris Rauf.

Harris Rauf also did not allow Merchant to go beyond 2 runs and dropped the eighth wicket of United, causing great difficulty to the strong team.

Waqas Maqsood was the last batsman to be dismissed by United, scoring just one run off five balls.

Islamabad United scored 131 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Danish Aziz scored 30 runs and Zahir Khan remained unbeaten.

Lahore Qalandars easily won the match by 66 runs.

Harry Brook was declared the man of the match for his superb batting.

The two teams for the match consisted of the following players:

Lahore Qalandars: Shaheen Shah Afridi (Captain), Fakhruzzaman, Phil Salt, Kamran Ghulam, Muhammad Hafeez, Harry Brooke, Sohail Akhtar, David Visay, Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Islamabad United: Asif Ali (Captain), Rehmanullah Garbaz, Mubasir Khan, Danish Aziz, Liam Dawson, Azam Khan, Fahim Ashraf, Merchant Delange, Muhammad Wasim, Waqas Maqsood, Zahir Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *